My Life as an Author, or Learning to Market

Writing is hard work! After seven years, and writing more than a dozen stories, non-fiction pieces, and short stories I may have reached the conclusion that I have been working on the easy part.

Over the past couple of weeks this picture shows the things around which my life is now revolving. You’ll notice that there isn’t a lot related to writing in this picture.

What have I learned?

In this modern world of book publishing an author had better be ready to do a lot of the work of marketing themselves. Isn’t that an amazing thing to figure out? I’m quick, you now know my secret.

Actually, my thought to consider – for anyone who is taking this amazing trip called “publishing” – buy into the fact that you are now largely responsible for marketing yourself and your work, enjoy the things that come with it.

20130918-205224.jpg

2 thoughts on “My Life as an Author, or Learning to Market

  1. Best Wishes. I cant wait for the post where you are sick and tired of “That Dan Brown guy” always calling asking for writing advice. And “That Woman named JK something or another” who always needs a small loan to get her by.

    You are getting close, I feel it. Stay positive!

We welcome your comments

